AeroAddicts

Racing

UCI & triathlon bike rules

A triathlon bike doesn't need to be UCI legal, but if you also want to race time trials it does. What each race allows, checked against the regulation texts in 2026-10. Rules change: the UCI amends them every January.

Your UCI limits

UCI art. 1.3.023: how far your extensions may reach depends on your height.

Enter your height to see your UCI limits.

What each race allows

UCI time trials

Road time trials and any race under UCI rules

BikeFrameset on the UCI approved list (TT label)

  • Extension reach and pad-to-extension height limited by rider height (see the calculator)
  • Saddle tip at least 50 mm behind the bottom bracket, or the 750 mm default reach applies
  • Two separate forearm supports, one per arm, only with extensions fitted
  • Each support at most 125 mm wide, 60–125 mm long and 85 mm high, tilted at most 30°
  • At least 180 mm from the front of the forearm support to the end of the extensions
  • Extensions at most 50 mm in cross-section (80 mm where joined)
  • From 1 January 2026: base bar at least 350 mm wide
  • Integrated hydration and storage usually has to come off

Sources: copaci.org, assets.ctfassets.net, assets.ctfassets.net

Non-drafting triathlon (World Triathlon rules)

Age-group and pro non-drafting races under national federations following World Triathlon

BikeAny TT bike; a UCI TT label is always accepted

  • Extensions, grips and shifters must stop behind the leading edge of the front wheel
  • Saddle tip from 5 cm in front of to 15 cm behind the bottom bracket
  • At most 2 litres of hydration on parts that turn with the steering
  • At most two 1-litre bottles behind the saddle; frame-integrated rear hydration up to 2 litres
  • Front-mounted items within a 250 × 200 mm box from the arm pad; top-tube items at most 10 cm high (since April 2025)
  • No fairings; a rear disc cover is allowed

Sources: triathlonmanitoba.ca, jtu.or.jp

Ironman

Ironman and Ironman 70.3 races

BikeAny TT or tri bike; no UCI approval needed

  • Aerobars must not extend past the leading edge of the front wheel (since March 2025)
  • At most 2 litres of hydration on the steering, at most two 1-litre bottles at the rear; in-frame systems don't count
  • Top-tube attachments at most 10 cm high and not covering the headset (since March 2026)
  • Disc wheels are reported to be banned at the World Championship in Kona

Sources: slowtwitch.com, endurancesportswire.com

Draft-legal triathlon

World Triathlon draft-legal races, elite and age group

BikeRoad bike (UCI RD label); TT bikes are not allowed

  • Drop handlebars only, no clip-on aerobars
  • Age group: no disc wheels, at least 12 spokes

Sources: triathlonmanitoba.ca

Which bikes are UCI legal

As stated by the manufacturer, with the UCI approved-framesets listing and what has to change for a UCI race.

BikeUCI legalUCI approved listFor a UCI race
A2 Bikes SPNot stated——
Argon 18 E-119 Tri+ DiscNo——
Argon 18 E117YesApproved 3 Dec 2024 as 'E117' (frame and fork), sizes XS-XL (5), code AR18-002 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Argon 18 NitrogenNot stated——
Argon 18 Nitrogen ProYesApproved 27 May 2025 as 'NITROGEN PRO' (frame and fork), sizes XXS-XL (6), code AR18-004 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Aurum EssentiaNot stated——
Aurum MagmaYesApproved 15 Feb 2024 as 'MAGMA V2' (frame and fork), sizes 48 - 58 (6), code AURUM-MG (UCI list version 2026.10.02); AURUM also states it is UCI approved—
Basso SVYesApproved 17 Apr 2026 as 'SV' (frame and fork), sizes 42-61 (8), code BASSO-014 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Berria Belador BRNot statedApproved 20 Mar 2024 as 'BELADOR 6G' (fork 'BELADOR 6G FORK'), sizes XS - L (4), code BERRIA-BEL6 (UCI list version 2026.10.02). Berria sells an XL (59) as well.—
Berria Belador EssentialNot stated——
Berria Belador ProNot stated——
BH Aero TTNot stated——
BH AerolightYesApproved 4 Oct 2021 as 'AEROLIGHT ROAD' (frame and fork), sizes XS - XL (5), code BHB-AERO (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Bianchi Aquila RCYesOn the UCI list as 'AQUILA' (frame and fork), sizes S-L (3), approved 19.07.2024, code BIANCHI-038 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Bianchi Oltre CompNot stated——
Bianchi Oltre ProNot stated——
Bianchi Oltre RaceNot stated——
Bianchi Oltre RCNot statedOn the UCI list of approved framesets as OLTRE ZERO PRO-RC, category ALL, sizes 47-59 (6), approved 19 March 2021, code BIAN-OL5 (the list doesn't name a later Oltre RC frame)—
BLUE Competition Cycles Triad EliteNot stated——
BMC Speedmachine 01YesApproved 4 Apr 2023 as 'Speedmachine SM00, Speedmachine SM01' (frame and fork), sizes S-L (3), code BMC-SDMC (UCI list version 2026.10.02)Remove the 1.2 L Fuel Tank and the Rear Storage 260; the supplied UCI-compliant Bottle 400 mounts above the bottom bracket in place of the tank
BMC Teammachine R 01YesApproved 10 Oct 2023 as 'Teammachine R' (frame and fork), sizes 47-61 (6), code BMC-TRM (UCI list version 2026.08.14)—
BMC Teammachine R Mpc.Not statedThe UCI list has the 'Teammachine R' frame and fork (code BMC-TRM, sizes 47-61); it doesn't list the Mpc. by name—
BMC Timemachine Mpc.YesThe UCI list (version 2026.10.02) has a 'Timemachine R' frame and fork approved 12 Dec 2025 in sizes S-ML (2), code BMC-033; BMC sells the bike as the Timemachine Mpc.—
CADEX TriNo—Not UCI legal: the frame has no top tube and an oversized aerofoil down tube. CADEX lists it as approved for World Triathlon non-drafting events.
Cannondale SuperSix EVO CarbonYesApproved 11 Feb 2025 as 'SuperSix EVO', sizes 44-61 (8), code CANN-S62 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cannondale SuperSix EVO Hi-MODYesApproved 11 Feb 2025 as 'SuperSix EVO HM', sizes 44-61 (8), code CANN-S61 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cannondale SuperSix EVO LAB71YesApproved 11 Feb 2025 as 'SuperSix EVO Series 0' (frame and fork), sizes 44-61 (8), code CANN-S60 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cannondale SuperSlice LAB71YesApproved 10 Jun 2025 as 'SUPERSLICE 3' (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes XS-L (4), code CANN-SSLICE (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Canyon Aeroad CF SLXYes——
Canyon Aeroad CFRYes——
Canyon Speedmax CFNo——
Canyon Speedmax CF SLXNo——
Canyon Speedmax CFRNo——
Canyon Speedmax CFR TTYesApproved 19 Mar 2021 as 'Speedmax CFR Disc' (frame R090, fork FK0079), sizes XS-L (4), codes CANY-R090 / CANY-F079 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ceepo KatanaNo—Ceepo states the Katana is not UCI legal
Ceepo Mamba-RYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets since 16 Jul 2018, sizes XS–XL (5), code CEEP-MAMB-RD—
Ceepo Mamba-R TriathlonYesApproved 16 Jul 2018 as 'MAMBA R' (frame and fork; the entry also names 'STINGER R'), road category, sizes XS-XL (5), code CEEP-MAMB-RD (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list does not say whether this covers the current SMR-stem versionCeepo states the Mamba-R is UCI certified
Ceepo ShadowNo——
Ceepo ViperNo——
Cervélo P-SeriesYesListed as 'P-SERIES' (frame and fork), approved 17 Jan 2024, sizes XS-L (5), code CERVELO-156 (UCI list version 2026.10.02); an earlier P-Series entry dates from 22 Mar 2019—
Cervélo P5YesApproved 28 Aug 2023 as 'P5, FM148' with fork 'P5, FK148', sizes 48-61 (6), code CERVELO-148 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cervélo S5Yes——
Chapter2 KOKOYesApproved 12 Mar 2021 as 'KOKO' (frame and fork), sizes XS-XL (5), code CHA2-KOKO (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cinelli AeroscoopYes——
Cinelli Pressure IIYesApproved 15 Jul 2024 as 'PRESSURE II' (frame and fork), sizes XS(46)-XL(58) (5), code CINELLI-010 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Colnago TT1YesApproved 23 Oct 2022 as 'TT1' (frame and fork), sizes S-L (3), code COLN-TT1 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Colnago TT2YesApproved 15 Apr 2026 as 'F100 / TT2' with fork 'K100 / TT2', sizes XS-L (4), code COLNAGO-28 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Colnago Y1RsNot stated——
Corratec CCT EVOYesApproved 19 Nov 2022 as 'CCT EVO' with the 'CCT EVO CONTROL' fork, sizes 46 - 60 (6), code CORR-CCTE (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Cube Aerium C:68XNo——
Cube Aerium C:68X TTYes——
Cube Litening Aero C:68XNot stated——
Dare Velocity Ace (VA-AFO)YesApproved 28 Nov 2023 as 'VA' (frame and fork), sizes XXS-XL (6), code DARE-VA (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
De Rosa 70YesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as SETTANTA, category ALL, sizes listed as 425-465 (8), approved 19 February 2023, code DER-70—
Dimond IkonNo——
Dimond MarquiseNo——
Dimond MogulNo——
Dimond Radiant SLNot stated——
Dolan Ares 3.0YesDolan states the frame and fork are UCI approved—
Dolan RebusYesDolan states the frame and fork are UCI approved—
Dolan TR1Not stated——
Dolan TR2Not stated——
Eddy Merckx 525RYesApproved 3 Nov 2025 as '525R' (frame and fork), sizes XS-L (4), code EMC-015 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
ENVE MeleeNot stated——
Factor HANZŌYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as HANZO (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes S-XL (4), approved 16 June 2022, code FACT-HANZO—
Factor ONEYesApproved 30 May 2025 as 'ONE / FM310' (frame and fork), sizes 47 - 58 (5), code FACTOR-006 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Factor ONE SPNot stated——
Factor OSTRO VAMNot stated——
Factor SLiCKNot stated——
Felt IA 2.0No—Not UCI-legal: Triathlete says the depth of the tubes rules it out
Felt IA 2.0 UD Carbon STDNo—Not UCI-legal: Triathlete says the depth of the tubes rules it out
Felt NexarYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets since 2 Oct 2025, sizes XXS–XXL (7), code FELT-012—
Felt Nexar UD Carbon STDNot stated——
Focus Izalco MaxYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'IZALCO MAX G4' (code DCW-IZ06) and 'IZALCO MAX G4 V2' (code DCW-IZ07), both approved 7 Jul 2021 in sizes XXS-XXL (7) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't say which entry is the 8 series. Focus says every Izalco Max complies with UCI rules and carries the sticker—
Focus Izalco MaxYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'IZALCO MAX G4' (code DCW-IZ06) and 'IZALCO MAX G4 V2' (code DCW-IZ07), both approved 7 Jul 2021 in sizes XXS-XXL (7) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't say which entry is the 9 series—
Fuji TransonicYesApproved 9 Apr 2018 as 'TRANSONIC DISC' (frame and fork), sizes 46 - 61 (7), code FUJI-TRAD-RD (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Giant Propel AdvancedNot stated——
Giant Propel Advanced ProNot stated——
Giant Propel Advanced SLYes——
Giant Trinity Advanced SLYesThe UCI list of approved framesets (version 2026.10.02) has one 2025 Trinity entry, MY25 TRINITY ADV PRO (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes XXS-L (5), approved 21 April 2024, code GIANT-039; the list does not use the Advanced SL nameGiant says the frameset is compliant for TT events. The TT frameset kit comes with a down-tube bottle and cage in place of the tri hydration kit and top-tube bento box.
Giant Trinity Advanced SL Time TrialYesThe UCI list of approved framesets (version 2026.10.02) has one 2025 Trinity entry, MY25 TRINITY ADV PRO (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes XXS-L (5), approved 21 April 2024, code GIANT-039; the list does not use the Advanced SL nameGiant says the Trinity Advanced SL frameset is compliant for TT events; this kit is the TT configuration with a down-tube bottle and cage.
Guerciotti FuriosaYes—Guerciotti states the frame complies with current UCI regulations
KTM Revelator Alto ExonicYesApproved 1 Jul 2022 as 'Revelator Alto' (frame and fork), sizes 49-59 (5), code KTM-REV8 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
KTM Revelator Alto Performance CarbonYesApproved 1 Jul 2022 as 'Revelator Alto' (frame and fork), sizes 49-59 (5), code KTM-REV8 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
KTM Revelator Alto Premium CarbonYesApproved 1 Jul 2022 as 'Revelator Alto' (frame and fork), sizes 49-59 (5), code KTM-REV8 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Kú Cycle TF1Not stated——
Lapierre Aérostorm DRSYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as AEROSTORM DISC (frame and fork), TT category, sizes S-XL (4), approved 2 March 2020, code LAPI-AERD-TT—
Liv Avow Advanced SLYesApproved 21 Apr 2024 as 'MY25 AVOW ADV PRO' (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes XXS-L (5), code LIV-010 (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list does not use the Advanced SL nameLiv says the frameset is compliant for TT events; the 2027 SL-FF frameset ships with a UCI bottle alongside the hydration kit
Liv EnviLiv AdvancedNot stated——
Liv EnviLiv Advanced ProNot stated——
Liv EnviLiv Advanced SLYesApproved 12 Sep 2025 as 'MY27 ENVILIV ADV SL' (frame and fork), sizes XXS-L (5), code LIV-010 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Look 795 Blade RS 2YesApproved 10 Jun 2022 as '795 BLADE 2 RS' (frame and fork), sizes XS - XL (5), code LOOK-795RS (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Look 795 Blade RS 3YesApproved 20 Jan 2026 as '795 BLADE RS 3' (frame and fork), sizes XXS-XL (6), code LOOK-795RS3 (UCI list version 2026.08.14)—
Look 796 Monoblade RSYes——
Megamo Pulse SLNot stated——
Megamo Pulse SLRNot stated——
Merida REACTO CF3Not stated——
Merida REACTO CF5Not stated——
Merida Time Warp TRINot stated——
Orbea Orca Aero OMXNot stated——
Orbea Ordu OMXYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as ORDU 2021 (frame and fork), TT category, sizes listed as 1-3 (3), approved 17 June 2020, code ORB-ORD3-TTRemove the down-tube storage box (BikeRadar); Orbea also sells the M10i LTD PWR UCI build with a UCI-legal bridge and Speedbar Pro extensions
Pardus Gomera RSNot stated——
Pardus Spark EVONot stated——
Pinarello Bolide F TRNot stated——
Pinarello Bolide F TTYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as BOLIDE F TT (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes 450-550 (4), approved 29 April 2024, code PINA-052—
Pinarello Dogma FYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as DOGMA F, category ALL, sizes 430-620 (11), approved 29 April 2024, code PINA-051—
Polygon Helios AYesApproved 17 Jan 2024 as 'HELIOS A GEN 3.0' (frame and fork), sizes 3XS - XL (7), code POLYGON-1 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Quintana Roo Service CourseNot stated——
Quintana Roo Service Course TriYes——
Quintana Roo Studio NEXT Service CourseNot stated——
Quintana Roo Studio NEXT Service Course TriYes——
Quintana Roo Studio NEXT V-PRiNot stated——
Quintana Roo V-PRNo——
Quintana Roo V-PRiNo——
Quintana Roo X-PRNo——
Radon VaillantNot stated——
Ribble Ultra-Aero SLYes——
Ribble Ultra-Aero SL RYesApproved 19 Jan 2022 as 'ULTRA SLR' (frame and fork), sizes XXS-XL (6), code RIBB-USLR (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ridley Dean Fast DiscYesUCI-approved as 'Dean Fast Disc' (frame and fork code RIDLEY-DEAN), approved 01.05.2023; the list (version 2026.10.02) names only size M (1)—
Ridley Noah 3.0YesApproved 26 Sep 2024 as 'NOAH 3' (frame and fork), sizes XS - L (4), code RIDLEY-034 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ridley Noah Fast 3.0YesApproved 19 Jul 2024 as 'NOAH 3 FAST' (frame and fork), listed as sizes XXS - L (6), code RIDLEY-031 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ridley Triton FastNoNot on the UCI list of approved framesets (version 2026.10.02)—
Rose Shave FFYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'SHAVE FF' with fork 'XLITE FF', sizes XS-XL (6), approved 2 Apr 2025, code ROSE-SHAVE1 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Rose Shave FFXYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'SHAVE FFX' with fork 'XLITE FFX', sizes XS-XL (6), approved 25 Sep 2025, code ROSE-SHAVEX (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Scott Foil RCNot stated——
Scott Foil RCNot stated——
Scott Foil RC TRINot stated——
Scott Plasma RCNo——
Scott Plasma RC TTYesNo entry under the Plasma RC TT name. The UCI list (version 2026.10.02) has a 'Plasma 7' frameset (code SCOTT-PLA7) approved 16.12.2021 in sizes S to L (3); BikeRadar described the 2022 prototype that preceded the Plasma RC TT as the Plasma 7, but the list does not link the two names.—
Simplon PrideYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'PRIDE II' (code SIMP-PRIDE), approved 7 Jul 2021 in sizes XXS-XL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); Simplon also states UCI conformity—
Specialized S-Works Shiv TT DiscYesListed on the UCI approved framesets list as 'Shiv TT' (frame and fork code SPE-SHIV-TT), approved 22.03.2019, sizes XS to L (4) (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Specialized S-Works Tarmac SL9Not stated——
Specialized Tarmac SL7Not stated——
Specialized Tarmac SL9Not stated——
Stevens ArcalisNot statedOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'ARCALIS' (code STEV-ARC), approved 16 Apr 2021 in sizes 48-58 (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); Stevens now sells sizes 48-61, and the list doesn't say whether the lighter 2024 frame is a separate approval—
Storck Aerfast.4 CompYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.3 / AERFAST.4' (code STOR-AEF), approved 8 Feb 2023 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the grades—
Storck Aerfast.4 PlatinumYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.3 / AERFAST.4' (code STOR-AEF), approved 8 Feb 2023 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the grades—
Storck Aerfast.4 ProYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.3 / AERFAST.4' (code STOR-AEF), approved 8 Feb 2023 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the grades—
Storck Aerfast.4 Red EditionYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.3 / AERFAST.4' (code STOR-AEF), approved 8 Feb 2023 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the grades—
Storck Aerfast.5YesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.5' (code STORCK-AEF5), approved 11 Jan 2025 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the Team and Pro grades—
Storck Aerfast.5 ProYesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as 'AERFAST.5' (code STORCK-AEF5), approved 11 Jan 2025 in sizes XS-XXL (6) (UCI list version 2026.10.02); the list doesn't distinguish the Team and Pro grades—
Storck Aero3Not stated——
Swift Neurogen MK3YesApproved 17 Jan 2023 as 'NEUROGEN MK3' (frame and fork), category ALL, sizes XS-L (4), code SWIFT-008 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Time ScylonYesApproved 20 May 2026 as 'SCYLON' with the TF33 fork, sizes XXS-XL (6), code TIME-015 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Trek Madone SL Gen 8Not stated——
Trek Madone SLR Gen 8Not stated——
Trek Speed Concept SLRYesUCI-approved as 'MY22 Speed Concept SLR' (frame and fork code TREK-062), approved 28.01.2021, sizes S to XL (4) (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Trek Speed Concept TTYesUCI-approved as 'MY22 Speed Concept TT' (frame and fork code TREK-061), approved 28.01.2021, sizes S to L (3). The list also has a separate 'Speed Concept TT' entry (TREK-070) approved 12.05.2023 for size 58 only (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Van Rysel RCR-F ProYesApproved 28 Feb 2024 as 'AERO_24 PRO' (fork listed as 'RCR-F / AERO_24 PRO'), sizes XXS-XL (6), code VRSL-A24P (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Van Rysel RCR-F2 ProNot stated——
Van Rysel XCR TriNot stated——
Van Rysel XCR UCIYesOn the UCI list as 'RCR-X / TT_23' with fork 'TT_23', sizes XS-XL (5), approved 02.05.2023, code VRSL-TT23 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ventum NS1YesApproved 10 Oct 2025 as 'NS1' (frame and fork), sizes XS-XL (6), code VENTUM-003 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Ventum One DiscNo——
Ventum TempusYesUCI-approved as 'Tempus' (frame and fork code VENTUM-002), approved 06.09.2024, sizes XS to XL (5) (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Wilier Triestina Filante SL ID2Not stated——
Wilier Triestina Filante SLRNot stated——
Wilier Triestina Filante SLR ID2YesOn the UCI list of approved framesets as FILANTE SLR, category ALL, sizes XS-XXL (6), approved 12 May 2025, code WILIER-023 (the first Filante SLR is listed separately as FILANTE, approved 2020)—
Wilier Triestina Supersonica SLRYesUCI-approved as 'Supersonica' (frame and fork code WILIER-021), sizes S to L (3); the list gives two approval dates, 29.04.2024 and 21.08.2024 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Wilier Triestina Turbine SLYesUCI-approved as 'Turbine SL' (frame and fork code WILIER-024), approved 12.12.2025, sizes XS-S to L-XL (3) (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Wilier Triestina Turbine SLRYesUCI-approved as 'Turbine SLR' (frame and fork code WIL-TURB1), approved 23.11.2021; sizes given on the list as '1/2' (UCI list version 2026.10.02)—
Winspace T1550YesWinspace states the T1550 Gen 2 frameset is UCI approved. The UCI list (version 2026.10.02) has a 'T1550' frame and fork approved 27 Sep 2017 (sizes 410-550, code WINS-T15-RD) and no separate entry for the second generation.—