CanyonSpeedmax CFR TT
The UCI-legal time-trial version of the disc-brake Speedmax, launched in May 2021 for Canyon's WorldTour teams. It keeps the CFR-grade frame with Toray M40X fibres developed with Swiss Side, but uses its own UCI-compliant tube shapes and drops all of the triathlon bike's hydration, storage and nutrition features. The front end is a conventional aluminium stem with a flat carbon basebar and Canyon's Pro TT extension system, and the XS size rolls on 650b wheels. Canyon still sells it beside the sixth-generation Speedmax triathlon bikes.
- From
- €11,999€11,999£11,149
- Builds
- 2
- Sizes
- 4
- Frame weight
- 1,030 g2.27 lb

Design sketch, generated from the manufacturer's photo
Our verdict
Overall
out of 100, average of 6 categories
A proven WorldTour time-trial frame in Canyon's top CFR carbon, light at a claimed 1,030 g and sold only with Dura-Ace Di2, a power meter and deep DT Swiss wheels. The stem-and-basebar front end is conventional and easy to work on, but the 2021 design has no tri storage, and the 650b XS suits smaller riders.
Scored Oct 2026
- + Top-tier build kit
- + Premium frame
- + Aero-first design
- − Expensive
AI-drafted from the specs on this page and reviewed before publishing. Scores are relative to every bike in the catalog when they were given, so they drop as newer bikes and parts raise the bar.
- Aero
- 84/100
- Frame
- 90/100
- Components
- 94/100
- Hydration & storage
- 40/100
- Fit
- 70/100
- Practicality
- 72/100
- Price
- 40/100
Aero claims and front-end integration
Carbon grade, weight and warranty
Groupset, wheels and power meter
Not counted in the overall score for time-trial bikes: UCI rules limit integrated hydration and storage. Hydration and storage in the frame
Sizes and adjustment range
Travel, standard parts, servicing
From the cheapest complete-bike MSRP
Bike duel
Frame & platform
Frame & fork
- Frame material
- Carbon (CFR, Toray M40X fibres)
- Fork material
- Carbon (CF), Canyon FK0079
- Frame weight
- 1,030 g2.27 lb
- Fork weight
- 370 g13.1 oz
- Weight measured on
- Frame size M, fork size not stated, from Canyon's 2026 component table; the 2021 launch release gave 1,030 g (M) and a 500 g fork
- Max system weight
- 120 kg264.6 lb
- Frame sizes
- XS, S, M, L
- Colours
- Pro Black
- Also available as
- Speedmax CFR (triathlon version; the current sixth-generation CFR is a different frame with integrated hydration and storage)
- UCI frame approval
- Approved 19 Mar 2021 as 'Speedmax CFR Disc' (frame R090, fork FK0079), sizes XS-L (4), codes CANY-R090 / CANY-F079 (UCI list version 2026.10.02)
Compatibility & standards
- Brake type
- Flat-mount hydraulic disc
- Wheel size
- 700c (650b on XS)
- Max tire width
- 30 mm
- Bottom bracket standard
- Press-fit BB86 (PF 86.5)
- Front axle
- 12x100 thru-axle
- Rear axle
- 12x142 thru-axle
- Drivetrain compatibility
- Sold with Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 (2x)
- Cable routing
- Fully internal
Hydration & storage
- Integrated hydration
- No
- Integrated storage
- No
Fit & adjustability
- Aerobar system
- Conventional front end: Canyon V19 aluminium stem, HB0054 flat carbon basebar (390 mm) and Canyon Pro TT extension system
- Pad stack adjustment range
- Armpad stack per size: XS 544-624, S 544-624, M 569-649, L 603-683 mm
- Pad reach adjustment range
- Armpad reach per size: XS 431-458, S 431-458, M 449-476, L 472-499 mm
- Seatpost type
- Canyon SP0048 aero seatpost (UCI-compliant deep profile)
Aerodynamics
- Manufacturer aero claims
- Canyon claimed at launch that the disc-brake frame saves 2.7 W over the rim-brake Speedmax CF SLX TT it replaced; the current product page quotes 456 CFD tests and 97 validation runs.
- Testing method
- CFD with Swiss Side, validated in the wind tunnel
Travel, maintenance & warranty
- Headset bearings
- 1 1/4 in fork steerer
- Frame warranty
- 6-year guarantee (canyon.com)
- Sold via
- Direct to consumer (canyon.com); not listed on canyon.com/en-us
Design sketches



Builds & components
Highlighted rows differ between builds. Green marks the best value.
Speedmax CFR TT | Speedmax CFR TT (2024) | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Price (MSRP) | €11,999€11,999£11,149 | €11,999€11,999£11,149 |
| Weight | 8.8 kg19.4 lb | 8.7 kg19.2 lb |
| Weight measured on size | M | M |
| Type | Complete bike | Complete bike |
| Notes | Model year 2026, Pro Black. EUR price from canyon.com/de-de. Not offered on canyon.com/en-us. | Model-year 2024 stock still listed in October 2026 at sale prices of £8,349 and €8,999 (full prices £11,149 / €11,999 shown as the original price). EUR from canyon.com/de-de. |
| Drivetrain | ||
| Groupset | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9200 | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9200 |
| Launched | 2021 · current generation | 2021 · current generation |
| Speeds | 12-speed | 12-speed |
| Electronic | Yes | Yes |
| Drivetrain | 2x | 2x |
| Shifters | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9160 Remote TT | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9160 Remote TT |
| Position | Extension-mounted | Extension-mounted |
| Weight | 19 g0.7 oz | 19 g0.7 oz |
| Crankset | Shimano Dura-Ace R9200-P (power meter) | Shimano Dura-Ace R9200-P (power meter) |
| Chainrings | 54/40 | 54/40 |
| Crank length | 170 (XS-S), 172.5 (M), 175 (L) | 170 (XS-S), 172.5 (M), 175 (L) |
| Power meter | Shimano Dura-Ace FC-R9200-P | Shimano Dura-Ace FC-R9200-P |
| Launched | 2021 · current generation | 2021 · current generation |
| Type | Integrated in crankset | Integrated in crankset |
| Bottom bracket | Shimano BB92 Pressfit | CeramicSpeed BB86 Shimano Coated |
| Standard | PF86.5 | PF86.5 |
| Weight | 55 g1.9 oz | 80 g2.8 oz |
| Front derailleur | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9250 | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9250 |
| Weight | 96 g3.4 oz | 96 g3.4 oz |
| Rear derailleur | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 |
| Weight | 216 g7.6 oz | 216 g7.6 oz |
| Notes | Medium cage | Medium cage |
| Cassette | Shimano Dura-Ace R9200 | Shimano Dura-Ace R9200 |
| Range | 11-30 | 11-30 |
| Speeds | 12-speed | 12-speed |
| Chain | Shimano XTR | Shimano XTR |
| Brakes | ||
| Brake levers | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 ST-R9180 | Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 ST-R9180 |
| Brake calipers | Shimano Dura-Ace (ST-R9180 system) | Shimano Dura-Ace (ST-R9180 system) |
| Type | Hydraulic disc, 2-piston, flat mount | Hydraulic disc, 2-piston, flat mount |
| Rotors | Shimano RT-CL900 | Shimano RT-CL900 |
| Front rotor | 160 mm | 160 mm |
| Rear rotor | 140 mm | 160 mm |
| Mount | Center Lock | Center Lock |
| Notes | 140/140 mm on XS | — |
| Wheels & tires | ||
| Wheelset | DT Swiss ARC 1100 | DT Swiss ARC 1100 Dicut (front) / ARC 1100 Disc (rear) |
| Front rim depth | 85 mm | 80 mm |
| Rear disc wheel | — | Yes |
| Internal rim width | 22 mm | 20 mm |
| Material | Carbon | Carbon |
| Front wheel weight | 786 g27.7 oz | 828 g29.2 oz |
| Rear wheel weight | 1,370 g3.02 lb | 1,074 g2.37 lb |
| Notes | Rear rim depth not listed; rear inner width 20 mm; 650b ARC wheels with 50 mm rims on XS | — |
| Tires | Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR 28 mm / Aero 111 26 mm | Continental GP5000 TT TR 28 mm / Aero 111 26 mm |
| Notes | Canyon lists both tyres without stating which goes front or rear | Canyon lists both tyres without stating which goes front or rear |
| Cockpit | ||
| Aerobar system | Canyon Pro TT Extension System | Canyon Pro TT Extension System |
| Notes | EP1966-01 / EP1967-01 LONG extension bodies, EP1968-01 connection plate, Canyon Pro armpad, armpad hook and carbon armrest sets | EP1966-01 / EP1967-01 LONG extension bodies, EP1968-01 connection plate, Canyon Pro armpad, armpad hook and carbon armrest sets |
| Basebar | Canyon HB0054 Basebar flat | Canyon HB0054 Basebar flat |
| Basebar width | 390 mm | 390 mm |
| Weight | 275 g9.7 oz | 275 g9.7 oz |
| Stem | Canyon V19 Short | Canyon V19 Short |
| Stem length | 65 | 65 |
| Weight | 204 g7.2 oz | 204 g7.2 oz |
| Notes | Aluminium | Aluminium |
| Saddle & seatpost | ||
| Saddle | Fizik Transiro R1 | Fizik Transiro R1 |
| Saddle width | 135 mm | 135 mm |
| Weight | 240 g8.5 oz | 240 g8.5 oz |
| Seatpost | Canyon SP0048 Aero Seatpost | Canyon SP0048 Aero Seatpost |
| Weight | 300 g10.6 oz | 300 g10.6 oz |
| Notes | UCI-compliant deep profile; length 285 mm (XS-S) / 335 mm (M-L) | UCI-compliant deep profile; length 285 mm (XS-S) / 335 mm (M-L) |
| Included extras | ||
| Pedals | None included | None included |
Speedmax CFR TT price & value
Where it's cheapest
MSRPs converted at ECB reference rates of 2026-10-05 (1 EUR = 1.1204 USD = 0.8472 GBP). US prices exclude sales tax, so add your state's rate before comparing.
| Build | Market | MSRP | In EUR | vs cheapest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speedmax CFR TT | Europe (EUR, incl. VAT) | €11,999 | €11,999 | cheapest |
| UK (GBP, incl. VAT) | £11,149 | €13,160 | +10% | |
| Speedmax CFR TT (2024) | Europe (EUR, incl. VAT) | €11,999 | €11,999 | cheapest |
| UK (GBP, incl. VAT) | £11,149 | €13,160 | +10% |
Ownership checklist
1 of 2 known checks pass, 5 not published by Canyon. Why these checks
- ✕
Threaded bottom bracket
Press-fit BB86 (PF 86.5)
- ?
UDH derailleur hanger
- ✓
Standard 12×142 mm rear axle
12x142 thru-axle
- ?
Works with mechanical shifting
- ?
Fits third-party aerobars
Conventional front end: Canyon V19 aluminium stem, HB0054 flat carbon basebar (390 mm) and Canyon Pro TT extension system
- ?
Rear disc wheel compatible
- ?
Fit kept when packed
Speedmax CFR TT geometry
| XS | S | M | L | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rider height min | — | 165 cm5′5″ | 175 cm5′9″ | 185 cm6′1″ |
| Rider height max | 165 cm5′5″ | 175 cm5′9″ | 185 cm6′1″ | — |
| Stack | 466 mm18.3″ | 472 mm18.6″ | 496 mm19.5″ | 530 mm20.9″ |
| Reach | 405 mm15.9″ | 417 mm16.4″ | 435 mm17.1″ | 458 mm18″ |
| Pad stack min | 544 mm21.4″ | 544 mm21.4″ | 569 mm22.4″ | 603 mm23.7″ |
| Pad stack max | 624 mm24.6″ | 624 mm24.6″ | 649 mm25.6″ | 683 mm26.9″ |
| Pad reach min | 431 mm17″ | 431 mm17″ | 449 mm17.7″ | 472 mm18.6″ |
| Pad reach max | 458 mm18″ | 458 mm18″ | 476 mm18.7″ | 499 mm19.6″ |
| Seat angle min | 86° | 85.9° | 85.7° | 85.5° |
| Seat angle max | 86° | 85.9° | 85.7° | 85.5° |
| Head tube angle | 73° | 73° | 73° | 73° |
| Head tube length | 59 mm2.3″ | 65 mm2.6″ | 91 mm3.6″ | 126 mm5″ |
| Effective top tube | 461 mm18.1″ | 473 mm18.6″ | 495 mm19.5″ | 523 mm20.6″ |
| Seat tube length | 474 mm18.7″ | 518 mm20.4″ | 540 mm21.3″ | 570 mm22.4″ |
| Chainstay | 420 mm16.5″ | 420 mm16.5″ | 420 mm16.5″ | 420 mm16.5″ |
| Wheelbase | 974 mm38.3″ | 988 mm38.9″ | 1,014 mm39.9″ | 1,047 mm41.2″ |
| BB drop | 75 mm3″ | 75 mm3″ | 75 mm3″ | 75 mm3″ |
| Standover | 767 mm30.2″ | 791 mm31.1″ | 815 mm32.1″ | 849 mm33.4″ |
| Saddle height min | 607 mm23.9″ | 651 mm25.6″ | 693 mm27.3″ | 723 mm28.5″ |
| Saddle height max | 727 mm28.6″ | 771 mm30.4″ | 843 mm33.2″ | 873 mm34.4″ |
| Wheel size | 650b | 700c | 700c | 700c |
| Crank length | 170 mm6.7″ | 170 mm6.7″ | 172.5 mm6.8″ | 175 mm6.9″ |
Side view & pad range
Drawn to scale (how to read it).
How the geometry rides
The Speedmax CFR TT in size S against the middle size of 16 other bikes: tendencies from geometry, not a ride review (how to read this).
- Wheelbase988 mm38.9″
shortestlonger than 41% of 16 bikeslongest
- Chainstay420 mm16.5″
shortestlonger than 95% of 20 bikeslongest
Long chainstays: adds stability and room for a rear wheel with wide tyres.
Good to know
Design
Canyon says the TT frame uses its own UCI-legal tube shapes and strips out the storage and nutrition features of the triathlon Speedmax. The armrests adjust with spacers and are set closer together out of the box.
SourceDesign
Size XS uses 27.5-inch (650b) DT Swiss ARC wheels with 50 mm rims and Continental tube-type tyres, plus 140 mm rotors front and rear.
SourceRacing
Canyon's product page says Chloé Dygert rode the Speedmax CFR TT to a world championship victory.
SourceHistory
Canyon announced the Speedmax CFR TT Disc on 5 May 2021, ahead of the Giro d'Italia, as the UCI-legal counterpart of the disc-brake Speedmax tri bike. At launch it came in three sizes (S-L) in a single build with SRAM Red AXS and Zipp 808 Firecrest / Super-9 Disc wheels for €9,999.
SourceVersions
In October 2026 canyon.com/en-gb lists two versions: the 2026 bike with a spoked DT Swiss ARC 1100 rear wheel and a Shimano press-fit bottom bracket, and leftover 2024 stock with an ARC 1100 Disc rear wheel, ARC 1100 Dicut 80 mm front wheel and a CeramicSpeed bottom bracket at a reduced price.
Source
Speedmax CFR TT FAQ
Is the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT UCI legal?+
Yes. The Canyon Speedmax CFR TT is UCI legal, so it can be raced in draft-illegal triathlon as well as UCI time trials.
How much does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT cost?+
Manufacturer prices (MSRP): €11,999 / £11,149 across 2 listed builds and framesets: Speedmax CFR TT and Speedmax CFR TT (2024).
How much does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT weigh?+
The lightest complete build listed (Speedmax CFR TT (2024)) weighs 8.7 kg (19.2 lb) in size M. The frame weighs 1,030 g (2.27 lb) (Frame size M, fork size not stated, from Canyon's 2026 component table; the 2021 launch release gave 1,030 g (M) and a 500 g fork).
What sizes does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT come in?+
4 sizes: XS, S, M and L. The manufacturer recommends them for riders from 165 cm (5′5″) to 185 cm (6′1″). Wheel size varies by frame size (XS: 650b, S: 700c, M: 700c and L: 700c).
What pad stack and pad reach can the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT reach?+
Across all sizes, pad stack ranges from 544 mm (21.4″) to 683 mm (26.9″), and pad reach from 431 mm (17″) to 499 mm (19.6″). Use the fit finder to check which size covers your position.
What seat angle does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT have?+
The effective seat tube angle can be set between 85.5° and 86°.
Does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT have integrated hydration?+
The Canyon Speedmax CFR TT has no integrated hydration system.
Does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT have integrated storage?+
No integrated frame storage.
What is the tire clearance of the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT?+
Up to 30 mm tires on 700c (650b on XS) wheels.
Which groupsets are compatible with the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT?+
Drivetrain compatibility: Sold with Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 (2x). Bottom bracket: Press-fit BB86 (PF 86.5).
What builds of the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT are available?+
Speedmax CFR TT: Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9200; Speedmax CFR TT (2024): Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 R9200.
What warranty does the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT frame have?+
6-year guarantee (canyon.com)
Is the Canyon Speedmax CFR TT aerodynamic?+
Canyon claimed at launch that the disc-brake frame saves 2.7 W over the rim-brake Speedmax CF SLX TT it replaced; the current product page quotes 456 CFD tests and 97 validation runs. (CFD with Swiss Side, validated in the wind tunnel)
Sources
- https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road-bikes/triathlon-bikes/speedmax/cfr/speedmax-cfr-tt/4254.html
- https://www.canyon.com/de-de/rennrad/triathlonrad/speedmax/cfr/speedmax-cfr-tt/4254.html
- https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road-bikes/triathlon-bikes/speedmax/cfr/speedmax-cfr-tt/3728.html
- https://www.canyon.com/de-de/rennrad/triathlonrad/speedmax/cfr/speedmax-cfr-tt/3728.html
- https://media-centre.canyon.com/en-INT/217645-ready-for-the-giro-canyon-launch-new-speedmax-cfr-tt-disc-time-trial-bike/
- https://assets.ctfassets.net/761l7gh5x5an/7jA9krKzzy3lRXPzlm4uyn/7982d7114b9d62978cb87876ea476535/58780c70-6247-4448-8384-b145fa30aba9.pdf
- https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road-bikes/triathlon-bikes/speedmax/
Canyon Speedmax CFR TT data last updated · How the data is checked ·